NPP clears all 7 presidential aspirants

NPPThe National Vetting Committee of the opposition New Patriotic Party has approved the candidacy of all the seven presidential aspirants it vetted.

After completing the two-day vetting exercise held on July 24-25, a statement signed by NPP’s General Secretary Kwabena Agyei Agyepong said all the seven aspirants were qualified to lead the party into 2016 general elections.

Consequently, the party has set Tuesday 5th August 2014 at 11:00am for balloting by all aspirants for positions on the ballot paper at the NPP Headquarters.

The aspirants are: the 2012 flagbearer of the party, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo; a former Trade Minister, Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen; Member of Parliament for Mampong, Francis Addai Nimo; and Dr. Kofi Konadu Apraku, a former MP for Offinso.

The rest are: a former Information Minister, Stephen Asamoah Boateng; Joe Ghartey, MP for Essikado-Ketan; and Asuogyaman MP, Osei Ameyaw.

“The Committee recommends that all seven (7) aspirants duly qualify and be made to contest the election,” the statement said.

A Special Electoral College has been fixed for August 31, 2014, which is aimed at whittling the number down to five as the party’s constitution demands.

“We wish to remind all aspirants, their spokespersons, agents and assigns to strictly respect, abide by the guidelines, rules and regulations governing the presidential primaries,” the statement cautioned.

Disclaimer: Comments by third parties do not in any way reflect the views of Raw Gist. We, however, reserve the right to edit and/or delete any comment. [ Terms & Conditions ]

Leave a Reply

(Your email address will not be published)