Minister swears in NSA Board

The Sports Minister, Isaac Asiamah has sworn into office the new board of the National Sports Authority (NSA) at a brief but impressive ceremony in Accra.

Administering the oath of office to the 15 member board, the Sports Minister charged the team to adhere to the guidelines setting up the NSA.

Hon Asiamah, who is also the MP for the Atwima-Mponua Constituency in the Ashanti Region tasked the board to work assiduously to turn around the image and professional status of the Authority.

He urged them to ensure they live up to the expectation of the President since the government was committed to turning around the running of the NSA into a viable outfit.

Speaking on behalf of the board, Kwadwo Baah Agyemang, Board Chairman of NSA thanked the President and the Sports Minister for the confidence they have reposed in members of the Board.

He expressed the commitment of the Board to adhere to the guidelines setting it up by working to bring the needed changes in the running of the NSA.

Some measures, the Board Chair noted had been started by the current NSA Director-General and assured of support by his team to ensure the Authority becomes vibrant in shaping sports administration in the country.

He pledged his outfit’s determination to help achieve the set targets by the National Sports Authority (NSA).

‘’I know turning around NSA into what we all want it to be is an arduous task but we should rather make the difficulty spur us on to work to attain victory at the end’’, Mr Baah Agyemang intimated.

Speaking to the Ghanaian Observer Newspaper later, the Board Chair expressed his desire to follow through the strategic plan which is being put together by the NSA.

Mr Baah also noted of plans to deal with administrative challenges including lack of funds, lack of motivation for staff and others at the Authority.

According to him, it is his desire to make the NSA attractive to its stakeholders as well as the public so as to engender confidence in the administration.

Ending the interview with the famous quote of Pele (Edson Arantes Do Nascimento) of Brazil, Mr Baah Agyemang said ‘the more difficult the victory, the greater the happiness in winning’.

The 15-member board sworn in included Mr Kwadwo Baah Agyemang (Chairman), Hon Robert Sarfo-Mensah, Eric Nkansa-Dwamena, Yaw Eusebius Kutor, Samuel Danquah Akhurst, Bernard Ayensu, DCFO Samuel Offei Adade, Prof Mohammed Salifu, Rev Cornelius Adja Cofie. Ben Nunoo Mensah, Dr Emmanuel Owusu-Ansah, Seth Panwum, Nana Yaw Sarkodie Aboagye, Richard A. Quarshie and Beatrice Dwumfuor Williams.

Disclaimer: Comments by third parties do not in any way reflect the views of Raw Gist. We, however, reserve the right to edit and/or delete any comment. [ Terms & Conditions ]

Leave a Reply

(Your email address will not be published)