NPP begins vetting of Parliamentary aspirants in Ashanti

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) has begun the vetting of parliamentary aspirants today.

121 aspirants have filed their nominations successfully with 6 of them going unopposed including the Majority Leader and MP for Suame Constituency; Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu, Deputy Education Minister and MP for Bosomtwi; Dr. Yaw Adutwum and others.

33 aspirants from 5 constituencies are scheduled to be vetted today at the Hasta lodge, TUC-Kumasi.

The party has constituted 2 separate committees to vet the aspirants with one comprising General Secretary of the party; John Boadu, Ashanti regional NPP Chair; Bernard Antwi Boasiako, Council of Elders member from the regional level and elections committees Chairman.

The second vetting panel will include Ashanti regional secretary of the party; Sam Pyne, Counsel Garry Nimako and others.

Vetting committee group ‘A’ panel is expected to vet seven (7) aspirants from Akrofrom constituency, five (5) from Subin, Atwimah Kwawomah three (3), Subin two (2) and Asokwa constituency two (2).

A visit to the venue revealed supporters have not been allowed inside. This measure, party officials explain is to check any potential incident and ensure a peaceful exercise.

The vetting exercise is expected to stretch well past midnight.

Disclaimer: Comments by third parties do not in any way reflect the views of Raw Gist. We, however, reserve the right to edit and/or delete any comment. [ Terms & Conditions ]

Leave a Reply

(Your email address will not be published)