Augustine Okrah, Ainooson on MTN FA Cup Best Player Shortlist

okrahTwo players from FA Cup winners Asante Kotoko are on the shortlist for the Best Player Award amid competition from two other candidates from Bechem United and Bibiani Gold Stars.

The FA Cup Committee (FACC) today released the shortlist the various award categories, featuring performers like Augustine Okrah and Abeiku Ainooson who starred in the 2013-14 MTN FA Cup competition.

Star performers in the FA Cup competition will be rewarded on 9 August during the Awards ceremony at the Banquet Hall of the State House in Accra.

Bechem’s Okrah and Ainooson from Kotoko will battle Gold Stars’ Elvis Opoku and Issah Yakubu, also of Kotoko for the award.

However, Opoku will face no competition for the top scorer prize after finishing tops with 7 goals.

The nomination continues the tradition of officially recognising the impact made by footballers and Clubs who participated in the Cup competition.

Asante Kotoko won the FA Cup after beating Inter Allies to record their 8th Cup success.
Defender Of The Year

  1. Abeiku Ainooson – Asante Kotoko
  2. Joseph Aidoo – Inter Allies
  3. Lassana Coulibaly – Feyernood Fc
  4. Emmanuel Akuoku – Aduana Stars

Goalkeeper Of The Year

  1. Osei Kwame – Inter Allies
  2. Joseph Addo – Asante Kotoko
  3. Benjamin Mensah – New Edubiase
  4. Theophilus Jackson – Feyernood FC

Top Scorer Of The Year

Elvis Opoku – Gold Stars – 7 Goals

Highest Scoring Club Of The Year

Asante Kotoko – 17 Goals

Referee Of The Year
1. Seidu Bomison
2. Daniel Laryea
3. Patrick Kyeremanteng

Assistant Referee Of The Year

  1. Ibrahim Adam
  2. Dawood Wadrago
  3. Ashitey Armah
    Promising Referees Of The Year
  4. Maxwel Hason
  5. Anafo Nathan
  6. Prince Amoah

Coach Of The Year

  1. Didi Dramani – Asante Kotoko
  2. Herbert Addo – Inter Allies
  3. John Kila – Feyernood FC
  4. Prince Acheampong – King Faisal

Discovery Of The Year

  1. Elvis Opoku – Gold Stars
  2. Benjamin Tetteh – Mighty Jets
  3. Patrick Kpozo – Inter Allies
  4. Lassana Coulibaliy – Feyernoord FC

Best Player Of The Year

  1. Elvis Opoku – Gold Stars
  2. Augustine Okrah – Bechem United
  3. Abeiku Ainooson –Asante Kotoko
  4. Issah Yakubu –Asante Kotoko
    Also awards will be handed out in the following categories:

Best Goal Of The Tournament
Fair Play
Special Awards

Disclaimer: Comments by third parties do not in any way reflect the views of Raw Gist. We, however, reserve the right to edit and/or delete any comment. [ Terms & Conditions ]

Leave a Reply

(Your email address will not be published)